Science

The Science Department provides in-depth study of scientific principles by employing appropriate technology and hands-on laboratory experiences at every level. Coursework prepares students for college studies, as well as fulfilling high school requirements in Life Science, Physical Science and Health.

All students are required to take one year of Physical Science, one year of Life Science and one semester of Health. It is highly recommended that any University-bound student complete three years of  college-preparatory lab science classes: Biology, Chemistry and Physics. For those interested in pursuing a higher degree in science or engineering, a fourth year of science is recommended.

All classes meet the California Science Content Standards for California Public Schools for Grades 9-12.

Science Teachers

Teacher (link to webpage)
Classes Taught eMail                                                        
Barbara Bertapelle   (Dept. Chair)
Chemistry, AP/IB Chemistry, AP Biology
bbertapelle@chicousd.org
Ray Barber
Chemistry, IB Biology
rbarber@chicousd.org
Lance Brogden Life Science
lbrogden@chicousd.org
Mary Bruch
Biology, Anatomy/Physiology
mbruch@chicousd.org
Bill Flory
Biology, Physical Science bflory@chicousd.org
Tom George CP Earth & Space Science, Physics tgeorge@chicousd.org
Liz Hankins CP Science 9, Biology
ehankins@chicousd.org
Susan Tippets
Physical Science, Biology stippets@chicousd.org